Latest News

Annual Greytown Sevens

Action from last year’s Greytown Sevens tournament, between host club Greytown and tournament winners Havelock North. Photo courtesy of

2 March: Wests Roosters, Havelock North and Avalon win Greytown 7s

Host club Greytown RFC welcomed teams from several clubs from the lower North Island to their annual Sevens tournament on Saturday. Last year’s beaten Men’s finalists the Wests Roosters (Wellington) went one better, taking out their division. The Wests squad feautured All Blacks Sevens players Tomasi Cama and Lote Raikabula and they overran a gallant Greytown 40-7 in their final.

Avalon (Wellington) beat Havelock North (Hawke’s Bay) 17-12 in a close Women’s final and Havelock North made it a four-peat in the Colts section defeating the Upper Hutt Rams (Wellington) 24-0 in the final.

Twelve teams representing eight clubs are contesting this Saturday’s annual Freshchoice Greytown Sevens tournament.

Teams from Wairarapa-Bush, Wellington, Hawke’s Bay, Manawatu and Horowhenua-Kapiti are taking part, split up into Men’s, Women’s and Colts pools.

The first game is at 9:20 am, a Women’s Pool match between the host club Greytown and Wellington contenders Avalon, leading up to the Colts, Women’s and Men’s finals scheduled for 2:40 pm, 3:00 pm and 3:30 pm respectively.

The tournament, played at Greytown’s East Street grounds, has been going for over 40 years and was traditionally a pre-season hit-out for the Wairarapa-Bush clubs. This year’s entries include defending Colts champions Havelock North, last week’s Shannon Sevens Men’s winners and host club Greytown, recent Hawke’s Bay Sevens Women’s winners Avalon and Women’s rugby powerhouse Feilding.

Last year, Havelock North won both the Men’s and Colts divisions, beating Wellington’s Wests Roosters 33-12 in the Men’s final and fellow Wairarapa-Bush club Martinborough 36-17 in the Colts final. The Wests Roosters and Martinborough are both returning this year to contest both these grades, as is Havelock North in the Colts division. The tournament features a women’s Pool for the first time this year.

The Pools are Draw is:

Men’s Pool: Greytown, Avalon, Wests Roosters, Rahui

Women’s Pool: Greytown, Avalon, Feilding, Havelock North

Colts: Greytown, Martinborough, Upper Hutt, Havelock North

9:20 am: Greytown v Avalon (Women’s)9:40 am: Feilding v Havelock North (Women’s)10:00 am: Martinborough v Greytown (Colts)

10.20 am: Havelock North v Upper Hutt (Colts)

10:40 am: Greytown v West Roosters (Men’s)

11:00 am: Rahui v Avalon (Men’s)

11:20 am: Greytown v Feilding (Women’s, field one);  Avalon v Havelock North (Women’s, field two)

11:40 am: Greytown v Upper Hutt (Colts, field one); Martinborough v Havelock North (Colts, field two)

12:00 pm: Greytown v Rahui (Men’s)

12:20 pm: Wests Roosters v Avalon (Men’s)

12:40 pm: Avalon v Feilding (Women’s)

1:00 pm: Greytown v Havelock North (Women’s)

1:20 pm: Greytown v Havelock North (Colts)

1:40 pm: Martinborough v Upper Hutt (Colts)

2:00 pm: Greytown v Avalon (Men’s)

2:20 pm: Rahui v Wests Roosters (Men’s)

2:40 pm: Women’s final

3:00 pm: Colts final

3.30 pm: Men’s final   

Source: Club Rugby | 28 February 2014 | By Steven White