All smiles at Gladdy

A stellar second half saw Gladstone beat arch rivals Greytown 25-20 in Moose Kapene Cup premier club rugby action this afternoon. It was a second half performance worthy of the occasion as Gladstone not only won back the Nunn Shield, but also paid their coach Steve Thompson the ultimate tribute. A stalwart

Marist fight back can’t reel in Greytown

Greytown-Marist clashes have been closely fought encounters in recent seasons, and today’s round three match-up was no different. The defending champions prevailed 26-22, but with a few more minutes on the clock the result could have easily gone the other way. As it was, Marist were left wondering what if, had they

Thompson terrific as Pioneer hang on

A 20-point haul by Joe Thompson helped Pioneer to a narrow 30-27 win over Martinborough at Colombo Road in Masterton this afternoon. The busy half back scored two tries and kicked 10-points as the hosts hung on for their first win of the season. With the scores locked at 27-all Thompson slotted

New Zealand Rugby turns 125 – Interactive timeline launched to showcase rugby history

New Zealand Rugby turns 125 - Interactive timeline launched to showcase rugby history New Zealand Rugby (NZR) turns 125 this Easter Sunday, April 16, and has launched a specially commissioned website showcasing rugby's milestones and highlights over its remarkable history in the country. The interactive site,, charts the years from the

2017 April Holiday programme

Wairarapa Bush Rugby Football Union April Holiday programme 10 - 15 year olds Registrations Open When -  Thursday 27th April (8.30am-3.30pm) - Friday  28th (Free Day) April (8.30am- 3.30pm) Where  - Trust House Memorial Park Why     - On and off field skill development and decision making including  game preparation, game and recovery Details -

SANZAAR announce changes to Super Rugby

Two teams from South Africa and one from Australia will be dropped in SANZAAR’s new structure of Super Rugby announced on Sunday. SANZAAR has announced that the Super Rugby tournament has been restructured and will kick-off in 2018 with a three conference, 15-team format: five teams from New Zealand, four from