You are here
Home > WBRU News > Chris Raymond named ‘Player of the Year’

Chris Raymond named ‘Player of the Year’


Martinborough loose forward Chris Raymond, Wairarapa-Bush Player of the Year. Photo: JADE CVETKOV

Chris Raymond’s stellar season has earned him one of the top gongs at the Wairarapa-Bush Rugby Awards last night.

The Martinborough open-side flanker won the Pat Shannahan Trophy Premier Player of the Year, heading off fellow finalists Nikora Ewe (Pioneer) and John Stevenson (Gladstone).

The 21-year old has been in sublime form in 2017 earning a recall to Farriers Wairarapa-Bush. A regular in the rep team two years ago, Raymond struggled with his form in 2016 missing out on selection. Back this season, he has been named on the bench for tomorrow’s annual Jeremy David Trophy match against Poverty Bay in Gisborne. Captain Eddie Cranston is wearing the number seven jersey.

In front of a full house at the Copthorne it was a night of double celebration for Raymond’s Martinborough club with head coach James Bruce picking up the Lane Penn Trophy Top Coach of the Year. Despite falling short in the Tui Cup final it was a tremendous season for Brucy, coaching his club’s premier side to their first grand final in 24-years. Bruce, a Wairarapa-Bush assistant coach, is a stalwart of his beloved Marty, involved with age-grade teams as well as the seniors, and also fundraising. Other finalists for Coach of the Year were Steve Thompson and Eli Telford.

While not directly recognized for his achievements, Thompson’s Gladstone club took out the coveted Sir Brian Lochore Trophy Club of the Year. The Gladstone club has had a fantastic 2017, both on and off the field. Their 70-senior players is the envy of a lot of clubs, as will be the senior premier Tui Cup now safely locked away in their trophy cabinet. They also boast over 100-JAB players and facilities second to none.

Also representing Gladstone in the awards was Brad Griffiths, winning the Patrick Rimene Trophy Top Points Scorer. Marist’s Soli Malatai was the top try scorer.

Makoura College student Lily-Ann Tait-Rowe was the Mrs A McPhee Trophy Premier Women’s Player, Nikora Ewe the Kingi Matthews Trophy Maori Player of the year; and Sam Smith (Wairarapa College) the Rutene Family Trophy College Player of the year.

Other award winners were Alan Christiansen (Masterton Red Star) – Farry McLeod Trophy Volunteer of the Year; Rachel Colton (Martinborough) – David Galvin Trophy Senior Administrator of the year; Richard Fairbrother (East Coast) – Ron Hughes Junior Administrator of the Year; Les Eden (East Coast) – Eric Kenny Trophy Personality of the Year; and Alastair Pyne – Baden Whale Trophy Top Referee of the Year.

2017 Wairarapa Bush Rugby Awards
Farry McLeod Trophy:
Volunteer of the Year
Alan Christiansen (MRS)

David Galvin Trophy:
Administrator of the Year (Senior)
Rachael Colton (Martinborough)

Ron Hughes:
Administrator of the Year (Junior)
Richard Fairbrother (East Coast)

Eric Kenny Trophy:
Personality of the Year
Les Eden (East Coast)

Mrs A McPhee Trophy:
Premier Player of the Year (Women)
Lily-ann Tait-Rowe (Makoura College)

Pat Shannahan Trophy:
Premier Player of the Year (Men)
Chris Raymond (Martinborough)

Rutene Family Trophy:
College Player of the Year
Sam Smith (Wairarapa College)

Kingi Matthews Trophy:
Maori Player of the Year
Nikora Ewe (Pioneer)

Lane Penn Trophy:
Top Coach of the Year
James Bruce (Martinborough)

Baden Whale Trophy:
Top Referee of the Year
Alistair Payne

Patrick Rimene Trophy:
Top Points Scorer – Premiers Brad Griffith

Manuera (Ben) Riwai-Couch Trophy:
Top Try Scorer – Premiers
Soli Malatai

Bob Francis – Best and Fairest Award:
Liam Devine & James Goodger

Sir Brian Lochore Trophy:
Supreme Award – Club of the Year Gladstone

Similar Articles