You are here
Home > WBRU News > Wairarapa-Bush RFU Hosts Successful Secondary School Sevens

Wairarapa-Bush RFU Hosts Successful Secondary School Sevens

Wairarapa-Bush Rugby Football Union staged a memorable conclusion to the Council’s annual programme of inter-provincial rugby at Trust House Memorial Park in Masterton on Saturday.

With the temperature a warm 21 degrees, 17 teams from secondary schools around the Hurricanes region competed for the Hurricanes Boys’ and Girls’ Sevens Cup.

Both champions (Manukura College and Hastings Boys’ High School) were unbeaten over the course of the Tournament, although in the Boys’ Cup Final, Hastings Boys’ had to come back from 12 point deficit to win the title by 33-17, after trailing hosts Wairarapa College 5-17 at half-time.

The performance of Levin’s Waiopehu College in making the Cup Semi-Final was the strongest result from a Horowhenua-Kapiti side since the inception of the Tournament, with five of the eight Provincial Unions comprising the Hurricanes region being represented at the Tournament this year.

It was to be a Hawkes Bay double in the Boys’ Division, with Napier Boys’ High School defeating Feilding Boys’ High School in the play-off for fifth and sixth. Earlier in pool play, Napier had been defeated by a strong Wellington Barbarians side 24-14, but squared the ledger and earned a place in the Plate Final by narrowly defeating the Wellington team 19-10 in the Plate Semi-Final.

The Tournament was officiated by the Wairarapa-Bush and Wellington Rugby Referees Associations, with the Tournament Operations managed the staff of the Wairarapa-Bush Rugby Football Union. The Council would like to acknowledge all those responsible for organising another successful event.

A special thanks to Stacey Grant, Caleb Agnew-Jones and the wider team from Wairarapa-Bush for their key roles in ensuring a successful Tournament.

The Final Tournament Placings are as follows.

Boys’ Division:

1. Hastings Boys’ High School (Cup); 2. Wairarapa College; 3. Rongotai College; 4. Waiopehu College; 5. Napier Boys’ High School (Plate); 6. Feilding High School; 7. Wellington Barbarians; 8. Hato Paora College; 9. Lindisfarne College; 10. Tu Toa College; 11. Wairarapa Barbarians; 12. St. Bernard’s College.

Girls’ Division:

1. Manukura College (Cup); 2. Wairarapa Barbarians; 3. Nga Wahine Toa; 4. St. Peter’s College.

Similar Articles