We hope you enjoy this look back as we look forward to many more years of recording the history of Wairarapa Bush Rugby Union.We acknowledge all the information from the NZ “Rugby Almanack”Series from the season’s 1934 through to 2014 and appreciate their hard and dedicated work in providing this detailed history. Web Admin

Acknowledgments to the NZ Rugby Almanack Franchise:

Back to Year by Year Index click here


Second Division
Founded 1886 – Affiliated 1893 – Amalgamated 1971
Main ground:
Memorial Park , Masterton
Turquoise jersey with scarlet collar and cuffs, red shorts, green socks with red bands

A consistent selection policy by coach Roger Dee, who used only 23 players for the season, was reflected in the improved placing of Wairarapa Bush in 1991. Fifth in the second division was a fair effort but the team had the ability to achieve a higher placing. Except for the King Country game, Wairarapa Bush suffered no big defeats in championship matches. The best performance, however, came in the game against Romania, in which the union recorded its first win over an international team.

The return of former All Black Marty Berry from Wellington was a bonus. Not only was Berry, who captained the side, a reliable goalkicker but he also used his experience and strength to advantage at second five-eighth. Fullback Mark Benton again gave outstanding service as did David Rutene, a hard-running wing. Peter Bresaz ran his wings in well and there was some smart work from Greg Gray at first five-eighth. Veteran halfback Bernie Lett was his usual reliable self. He and Benton have passed their century of games for their union and their contribution over the years has been tremendous.

Two newcomers, John Hutchins and Vernon Boyce, locked the scrum in all games and should be able to build on the experience gained in 1992. Bruce Bowie, Paddy Berry and Greg Hawkins hunted well in the loose and were never far from the ball. The experienced front row of Chris Berry, Brian Styles and Motu Tua, who had last appeared in 1988, was a very efficient unit.

Higher honours went to:
New Zealand Divisional XV: Rutene , Styles .

1991 Match Record: Played 11 ; Won 4 ; Lost  7
Points : For 205 ; Against 228
(NC) = National Championship
1. May 8 vs Hawke’s Bay, at Hastings
Lost 06 – 34
Wai-Bush Scorers : M.Berry , (2) Penalties
Referee: Mr A.N.Tichborne (Hawke’s Bay)
2. May 22 vs Romania, at Masterton
Won 32 – 25
Wai-Bush Scorers : Hawkins (2), M.Berry (2), O’Connor, tries
M.Berry , (3) Conversions , (2) Penalties
Referee: Mr G.F.Smith (King Country)
3. May 29 vs Wellington, at Masterton
Lost 10 – 23
Wai-Bush Scorers : Rutene, try
M.Berry ,(2) Penalties
Referee: Mr L.Cockeram (Wairarapa Bush)
4. July 31 vs Horowhenua , at Masterton
Won 40 – 21
Wai-Bush Scorers : Hawkins (2), Boyce, Shirkey, Hutchins, Bresaz, Rutene, tries ; M.Berry (3) Conversions, (2) Penalties
Referee: Mr S.A.Hannan (Wairarapa Bush)
5. August 22 vs Thames Valley, at Paeroa (NC)
Lost 06 – 08
Wai-Bush Scorers : M.Berry (2) Penalties
Referee: Mr B.Smallridge (Auckland)
6. August 25 vs Poverty Bay, at Gisborne (NC)
Won 17 – 09
Wai-Bush Scorers : Lett (2), tries
M.Berry, (3) Penalties
Referee: Mr S.P.Lunn (Hawke’s Bay)
7. August 31 vs Southland, at Masterton (NC)
Lost 17 – 22
Wai-Bush Scorers : Bresaz, Benton, P.Berry, try
M.Berry (1) Penalty ; Gray (1) Conversion
Referee: Mr B.S.Rook (Wanganui)
8. September 7 vs Manawatu, at Palmerston North (NC) (Bruce Steel Cup)
Lost 28 – 29
Wai-Bush Scorers : M.Berry, Benton, Rutene, tries
M.Berry (2) Penalties ; Gray (2) Conversions, (2) Penalties
Referee: Mr S.Beissel (Taranaki)
9. September 14 vs Wanganui, at Wanganui (NC)
Won 21 – 09
Wai-Bush Scorers : Lett (2), Rutene, tries
Gray (1) Conversion, (1) Penalty
Referee: Mr P.Te W.Harrison (North Harbour)
10. September 18 vs Marlborough, at Masterton (NC)
Lost 12 – 17
Wai-Bush Scorers : Rutene, try
Gray (1) Conversion, ; M.Berry (2) Penalties
Referee: Mr D.A.Thorpe (Poverty Bay)
11. September 25 vs King Country, at Masterton
Lost 16 – 31
Wai-Bush Scorers : M.Berry (2), O’Connor, tries
Gray (2) Conversions
Referee: Mr J.F.Donnelly (Poverty Bay)
Wairarapa Bush REPRESENTATIVES 1991 + {Total Games for WBRFU}
M.F.C.Benton Carterton 106
C.F.W.Berry Featherston 27
M.J.Berry Featherston 42
P.D.Berry Featherston 24
B.D.Bowie Puketoi 29
V.M.Boyce Martinborough 12
P.R. Bresaz Red Star 33
M.L. Dudley Masterton 40
G.R. Gray Marist 37
G.R. Hawkins Martinborough 49
D.J. Heaps Red Star 1
LA. Hutchins Carterton 12
B.J.Lett Carterton 104
M.C.O’Connor Carterton 18
Q.G.O’Neale Masterton 4
T.C.Penn Gladstone 4
G.C.Richardson Eketahuna 7
D.Rutene Masterton 36
I.D.Sargent Featherston 1
J.H.Shirkey Martinborough 7
B.E.Styles Carterton 86
M.Tua Eketahuna 39
R.K.Wakeling East Coast 1