We hope you enjoy this look back as we look forward to many more years of recording the history of Wairarapa Bush Rugby Union.We acknowledge all the information from the NZ “Rugby Almanack”Series from the season’s 1934 through to 2013 and appreciate their hard and dedicated work in providing this detailed history. Web Admin

Acknowledgments to the NZ Rugby Almanack Franchise:

Back to Year by Year Index click here




2005 Status:
Third Division
Founded 1886 – Affiliated 1893 – Amalgamated 1971
Assistant Coach: C.J.Luman
Main ground:
Memorial Park , Masterton
Green and Red

After finishing second in 2004 and with the winner, Poverty Bay, being promoted Wairarapa Bush were leading contenders to take out the 2005 title. Preparations began well with a win over second division Wanganui, a game played on a neutral ground, at the former Institute of Rugby at Massey University. However, confidence was dented by a first-up loss to Buller but quickly restored when major threats Horowhenua Kapiti and King Country were disposed of. The remainder of the round robin opposition provided few problems and the Buller defeat was avenged in the semi-final, a hard game in which the home team had to dig deep before winning 20-14.

The grand final was played in summery conditions before a good crowd in festive mood. Wairarapa Bush quickly rattled up the points as Horowhenua Kapiti committed several costly blunders and by halftime appeared to have the title safely within its grasp. However, a late fightback by the visitors brought the scores to 25-23 and it was a relief when near full time a penalty was awarded which Rimene converted. It was the first championship title Wairarapa Bush had won since the finals system was introduced in 1992. The union’s previous title was in 1981 when the second division was won and the union was promoted to division one where it survived for six seasons.

Only 26 players were used throughout the season, a line blend of experienced campaigners and some promising newcomers. Bart Viguurs produced some excellent displays at fullback. Jiogi Tamani, Esava Tiko and Marika Kau were on the wings and Simanu Simanu, who scored 14 tries, was outstanding at centre. A very sharp runner, his play throughout the season produced many tries, not only for himself but also his wings. Nathan Riwai-Couch, the most senior back, was a solid customer and sound defender. Patrick Rimene scored 100 points and was supplied good ball from the halfbacks, James Bruce and substitute Hamish McKenzie.Thomas Harmon was a regular midfield substitute.

With Sylvanus Iro at number eight and Daimon Neal and Sam Henderson on the flanks, Wairarapa Bush possessed an excellent loose forward trio, Neil and Henderson being very quick and effective. Steven Olds was recalled late in the season. Mike Robinson was an inspiring captain yet again and the championship title was a fitting reward for the contribution he had given to the union over many years. His locking partner was the former Wanganui representative Tomasi Kedrabuka who was the team’s most outstanding player. The front row had a hard working hooker in Rob Foreman and his substitute Richard MacDonald. Four props were used — Dylan Higgison, Logan Ili, Joe Harwood and Ashley Wells.

2005 Pre-Season Match Record: Played 1 ; Won 1
Points :For 25 ; Against 08
1. August 5 vs Wanganui, at Palmerston North
Won 25 – 08
Wai-Bush Scorers : Viguurs, Simanu, Reid, Ili Tries
Rimene (1) Conversion (1) Penalty Goal
Referee: Mr C.Morrison (Taranaki)
2005 NPC Third Division Match Record: Played 9 ; Won 8; Lost 1
Points :For 305 ; Against 131
1. August 20 vs Buller, at Westport
Lost 24 – 29
Wai-Bush Scorers :Neal, Tiko, Vihuurs tries
Rimene (3) Conversions (1) Penalty Goal
Referee: Mr J.B.Noonan
2. August 27 vs Horowhenua-Kapiti, at Masterton
Won 50 – 03
Wai-Bush Scorers : Tamani (2), Simanu (2), Tiko, Rimene, Viguurs, tries
Rimene (3) Conversions (3) Penalty Goals
Referee: Mr G.L.Williamson
3. September 3 vs King Country, at Te Kuiti
Won 29 – 26
Wai-Bush Scorers : Tamani, Simanu, Harwood, Tiko Tries
Rimene (3) Conversions (1) Penalty Goal
Referee: Mr D.R.Luckin
4. September 10 vs South Canterbury, at Masterton
Won 41 – 03
Wai-Bush Scorers : Simanu (2), Foreman, Tiko, Viguurs, Rimene tries
Rimene (4) Conversions (1) Penalty Goal
Referee: Mr L.E.Bray
5. September 17 vs Thames Valley, Masterton
Won 38 – 11
Wai-Bush Scorers : Kau (3), Tiko (2), Simanu tries
Rimene (4) Conversions
Referee: Mr B.A.Murray
6. September 24 vs West Coast, at Greymouth
Won 39 – 12
Wai-Bush Scorers : Simanu (3), Foreman, Bunny, Neal, Tries
Rimene (3) Conversions (1) Penalty Goal
Referee: Mr J.M.White
7. October 1 vs Mid Canterbury, at Masterton
Won 36 – 10
Wai-Bush Scorers : Kedrabuka, Riwai-Couch, Simanu, Viguurs, Penalty Try,  Tries
Rimene (4) Conversions (1) Penalty Goal
Referee: Mr M.L.Peters
8. October 8 vs Buller, at Masterton
Won 20 – 14
Wai-Bush Scorers : Viguurs (2) , Kau, tries
Rimene (1) Conversion (1) Penalty Goal
Referee: Mr B.A.Murray
9. October 15 vs Horowhenua-Kapiti, at Masterton {NPC 3rd Division Final}
Won 28 – 23
Wai-Bush Scorers : Simanu (3), Henderson, tries
Rimene (1) Conversion (2) Penalty Goals
Referee: Mr C.J.Pollock
Wairarapa Bush REPRESENTATIVES 2005 + {Total Games for WBRFU}
C.J.Bargh Marist 2
J.C.Bruce Gladstone 45
G.R.Bunny Carterton
R.W.Foreman Eketahuna 20
T.Harmon Carterton 8
J.R.Harwood Carterton
S.W.Henderson Gladstone 10
D.M.Higgison Greytown-Tuhirangi 21
L.F.Ili Carterton
S.R.Iro Greytown-Tuhirangi 19
T.S.Iro Eketahuna
R.M.V.Kau Oriental-Rongotai , Wellington RU
T.T.Kedrabuka Carterton 10
R.A.MacDonald Carterton 34
H.M.McKenzie Eketahuna 36
D.M.Neal Gladstone
S.G.Olds Eketahuna 17
C.D.Reid Marist
P.H.Rimene Marist 49
N.L.A.Riwai-Couch Marist 54
M.R.Robinson Upper Hutt, Wellington RU
S.F.Simanu Eketahuna 37
J.B.Tamani Eketahuna
E.Teko Oriental-Rongotai , Wellington RU 19
B.Viguurs Greytown-Tuhirangi 9
A.D.Wells Carterton 10
== == ==