We hope you enjoy this look back as we look forward to many more years of recording the history of Wairarapa Bush Rugby Union. We acknowledge all the information from the NZ “Rugby Almanack” Series from the season’s 1934 through to 2013 and appreciate their hard and dedicated work in providing this detailed history. Web Admin

Acknowledgments to the NZ Rugby Almanack Franchise:

Back to Year by Year Index click here




2008 Status:
Heartland Championship
Founded 1886 – Affiliated 1893 – Amalgamated 1971
Assistant Coach:
Main ground:
Memorial Park , Masterton
Green and Red

Wairarapa Bush scored as many tries (31) as the opposition during the championship but was less successful with goal kicks, the result being three wins from nine games. In the five pool games, only one of which was won, the team registered more tries (17) than any other side in Pool A, but also conceded the most tries (19). Weak defence cost the team dearly. Three home pool games were lost by narrow margins — all should have been won.

New coaches Kelvin Tantrum, who had enjoyed success in Manawatu club and Manawatu women’s NPC teams, and former rep captain Mike Robinson recruited some useful players from Wellington to blend with the few experienced local players.

In the backline Nathan Riwai-Couch and Patrick Harding—Rimene returned after a year’s break to provide their wealth of experience. There was pace in the three-quarters with Junior Togia and Charles Walker-Blair scoring half the team’s tries. Fullback Peato Lafaele was also enterprising on attack. New rep Jordon Watene was a sound link at centre.

In the pack the grand toiler Joe Harwood captained the side, and later the Heartland XV

He was assisted in the tight by props Dylan Higgison, Brett Rudman, and young newcomer Kurt Simmonds, a hard grafter with promise.There were two tall locks in Tomasi Kedrabuka and James Measor.Tireless Michael Spence and Jared Hawkins were industrious loose forwards with Nathan Rolls, Joe Feast and Mike Wilson also playing their roles.

Higher honours went to:
New Zealand Heartland XV: Harwood

2008 Pre-Season Match Record: Played 1 ; Lost 1
Points :For 6; Against 19
1. August 9 vs Poverty Bay, at Masterton
Lost 06 – 19
Wai-Bush Scorers :
Harding-Rimene (2) Conversions
Referee: Mr S.W.McDermott
2008 Heartland Match Record: Played 9 ; Won 3; Lost 6
Points :For 249 ; Against 241
1. August 23 vs West Coast, at Masterton
Lost 31 – 37
Wai-Bush Scorers : Walker-Blair (2), Harding-Rimene,Togia, Hawkins tries
Harding-Rimene (1) Penalty Goal, Grant (1) Penalty Goal
Referee: Mr M.L.Fraser
2. August 30 vs South Canterbury, at Timaru
Won 27 – 19
Wai-Bush Scorers : Walker-Blair (2), Watene,Togia tries
Harding-Rimene (2) Conversions, (1) Penalty Goal
Referee: Mr K.R.McBride
3. September 6 vs Buller, at Masterton
Lost 08 – 11
Wai-Bush Scorers : Togia Try
Harding-Rimene (1) Penalty Goal
Referee: Mr G.R.Newman
4. September 13 vs Horowhenua-Kapiti , at Masterton
Lost 31 – 36
Wai-Bush Scorers : Rolls (2), Togia, Walker-Blair Tries
Harding-Rimene (4) Conversions, (1) Penalty Goal
Referee: Mr T.A.Pullar
5. September 20 vs North Otago, at Oamaru
Lost 19 – 44
Wai-Bush Scorers : Walker-Blair, Lafaele,Togia tries
Karaitiana (2) Conversions
Referee: Mr K.W.Brown
6. September 27 vs Thames Valley, at Masterton
Won 11 – 10
Wai-Bush Scorers : Togia Try
Karaitiana (2) Penalty Goals
Referee: Mr S.W.McDermott
7. October 4 vs Poverty Bay, at Gisborne
Lost 08 – 24
Wai-Bush Scorers : Togia Try
Karaitiana (1) Penalty Goal
Referee: Mr T.A.Pullar
8. October 11 vs East Coast, at Masterton
Won 67 – 23
Wai-Bush Scorers : Lafaele (3), Harding-Rimene, Togia, Feast, Walker-Blair, Guillard, Simmonds, Wilson tries
Harding-Rimene (7) Conversions, (1) Penalty Goal
Referee: Mr M.I.Fraser
9. October 18 vs Horowhenua-Kapiti, at Levin {Lochore Cup Semi-Final}
Lost 17 – 37
Wai-Bush Scorers : McLean, Spence tries
Harding-Rimene (2) Conversions, (1) Penalty Goal
Referee: Mr G.R.Newman
Wairarapa Bush REPRESENTATIVES 2008 + {Total Games for WBRFU}
J.J.Bambry Puketoi 14
J.C.Bruce Gladstone
C.W.Buchanan Carterton 4
A.W.Cook Gladstone
J.P.Feast East Coast 8
D.Grant Gladstone 2
J.T.Guillard Eketahuna 13
P.Harding-Rimene Marist 70
J.R.Harwood (Capt) Carterton
J.A.Hawkins Martinborough 11
D.M.Higgison Tuhirangi 41
M.C.Hollis Greytown 11
T.A.Isaac Greytown
T.T.Kedrabuka Carterton 40
P.Lafaele Northern United – Wellington RU
A.R.McLean Gladstone 3
J.D.Measor Upper Hutt – Wellington RU 9
J.E.Nuku Marist
N.K.Olson East Coast
R.W.Puddy Gladstone 5
N.L.A.Riwai-Couch Marist 72
N.H.Rolls Pioneer 11
B.R.Rudman Greytown
M.P.P.Shaw Gladstone 13
K.M.Simmonds Gladstone 10
M.R.Spence Gladstone 31
L.D.Stevenson Carterton 13
E.Togia Tawa – Wellington RU
C.W.Walker-Blair Carterton 10
J.L.Watene Gladstone 10
M.H.Wilson Pioneer 10
== == ==