We hope you enjoy this look back as we look forward to many more years of recording the history of Wairarapa Bush Rugby Union. We acknowledge all the information from the NZ “Rugby Almanack” Series from the season’s 1934 through to 2013 and appreciate their hard and dedicated work in providing this detailed history. Web Admin

Acknowledgments to the NZ Rugby Almanack Franchise:

Back to Year by Year Index click here




2010 Status:
Heartland Championship
Founded 1886 – Affiliated 1893 – Amalgamated 1971
Assistant Coach:
Main ground:
Memorial Park , Masterton
Green and Red

lochoreThis union battled through eight round robin games for just two wins yet produced winning it performances in the play-offs to take home the Lochore Cup. King Country were firm favourites for the Lochore Cup even before demolishing Wairarapa Bush 43-23 in the final round.The following week Wairarapa Bush journeyed to Te Kuiti for the semi-final and created the upset of the Heartland season by defeating the favourites 21-17. In a tryless final at Westport the Bush were deserving victors.

Joe Harwood returned after a season away and led the team well. He was supported in the frontrow by Dylan Higgison, Kurt Simmonds, Jared Brock and reserve hooker Richard Puddy. Andrew McLean had some excellent games at lock alongside the experienced Brandon Young and regular substitute Tomasi Kedrabuka. Mana Faraimo, Rupeni Tamani and Joss Tua-Davidson were a lively loose trio.

Outside the halfback James Bruce, Jeremy Te Huia directed the backline and contributed 99 points to the team. Cyrus Baker was the union’s Origin player and he shared the midfield positions with Sam Mitchell and Hemi Tupaea. Jesse McGilvary, Junior Togia and Tommy Harmon were the wings and Nick Olson at fullback.

2010 Heartland Match Record: Played 10 ; Won 4 ; Lost 6
Points :For 204 ; Against 286
1. August 28 vs Buller, at Westport
Won 23 – 16
Wai-Bush Scorers : Mitchell try
Te Huia (6) Penalty Goals
Referee: Mr M.S.Muir
2. September 4 vs Mid Canterbury, at Masterton
Lost 17 – 30
Wai-Bush Scorers : Olson, Baker tries
Te Huia (2) Conversions, (1) Penalty Goal
Referee: Mr G.G.Stuart
3. September 11 vs Poverty Bay, at Gisborne
Lost 06 – 62
Wai-Bush Scorers :
Te Huia (2) Penalty Goals
Referee: Mr S.A.W.Eden-Whaitiri
4. September 18 vs East Coast , at Masterton
Won 33 – 14
Wai-Bush Scorers : Faraimo (2), Harwood, Te Huia, Sargent tries
Te Huia (4) Conversions
Referee: Mr G.W.Jackson
5. September 25 vs North Otago, at Masterton
Lost 20 – 29
Wai-Bush Scorers : Togia, Tua-Davidson tries
Te Huia (2) Conversions, (2) Penalty Goals
Referee: Mr J.B.Noona
6. October 2 vs West Coast, at Masterton
Lost 30 – 35
Wai-Bush Scorers : McGilvary (2), Faraimo tries
Te Huia (3) Conversions, (3) Penalty Goals
Referee: Mr S.M.Elliott
7. October 9 vs Horowhenua-Kapiti, at Levin
Lost 17 – 31
Wai-Bush Scorers : Karaitiana, Harmon tries
Te Huia (1) Conversion, (1) Penalty Goal , Karaitiana (1) Conversion
Referee: Mr G.L.Williamson
8. October 16 vs King Country, at Masterton
Lost 22 – 43
Wai-Bush Scorers : Young, Brock, Olson tries
Te Huia (2) Conversions, (1) Penalty Goal
Referee: Mr S.A.W.Eden-Whaitiri
9. October 23 vs King Country, at Te Kuiti {Lochore Cup Semi-Final}
Won 21 – 17
Wai-Bush Scorers : Karaitiana (2), Faraimo tries
Te Huia (2) Conversions, (1) Penalty Goal
Referee: Mr S.M.Elliott
10. October 30 vs Buller, at Westport {Lochore Cup Final}
Won 15 – 09
Wai-Bush Scorers :
Te Huia (4) Penalty Goals, Karaitiana (1) Drop Goal
Referee: Mr M.S.Muir
Wairarapa Bush REPRESENTATIVES 2010 + {Total Games for WBRFU}
C.C.Baker Havelock North – Hawkes Bay RU 7
J.H.Brock Puketoi 17
J.C.Bruce Martinborough 67
M.Faraimo Northern United – Wellington RU
D.J.Griffin Eketahuna 23
T.Harmon Carterton 20
J.R.Harwood Carterton 61
D.M.Higgison Carterton 51
B.T.I.Karaitiana Masterton Red Star
T.T.Kedrabuka Carterton 55
D.J.Law Puketoi 10
J.A.A.McFadzean Carterton 7
J.McGilvary East Coast
A.R.McLean Gladstone 24
A.T.Matenga Marist 11
S.R.Mitchell East Coast 17
N.K.Olson East Coast 29
R.W.Puddy Gladstone 21
T.T.Rimene East Coast
B.R.Rudman Greytown 37
T.J.Sargent Greytown 6
K.M.Simmonds Gladstone 31
R.J.Te Huia Poneke – Wellington RU
E.Togia Tawa – Wellington RU
J.A.Tua-Davidson Eketahuna
H.N.Tupaea Masterton Red Star
B.P.Young Eketahuna 11
== == ==