We hope you enjoy this look back as we look forward to many more years of recording the history of Wairarapa Bush Rugby Union. We acknowledge all the information from the NZ “Rugby Almanack” Series from the season’s 1934 through to 2013 and appreciate their hard and dedicated work in providing this detailed history. Web Admin

Acknowledgments to the NZ Rugby Almanack Franchise:

Back to Year by Year Index click here




2011 Status:
Heartland Championship
Founded 1886 – Affiliated 1893 – Amalgamated 1971
Assistant Coach:
Main ground:
Memorial Park , Masterton
Green and Red

The 2010 Lochore Cup winners disappointed in 2011 with only one competition win – over bottom placed Horowhenua Kapiti. New coaches Mark Rutene and Steve Thompson relied on local players apart from hooker ]ake Tipene and Origin player Trent Vatselias who scored nearly half the team’s points.

Nick Olson was a fine finisher on the wing and was selected for the Heartland team but forced to withdraw owing to injury. First five-eighth Zeb Aporo did play for the Heartland XV Matt O’Connor was the usual halfback but Inia Katia gave some spark when he came off the bench. Three-quarter Michael Vuicakau had his moments but generally the backs received little quality ball. Jesse McGilvary, Sam Mitchell, Hemi Tupaea and Tommy Harmon were other backs to appear regularly.

Number eight Joss Tua-Davidson led the team with Andrew McLean, Brandon Young, Dan Griffin, Brendan Walker and Kurt Simmonds being experienced players. Johan Van Vliet, James Goodger, Wilba Davies and Campbell Lawrence were newcomers to appear regularly.

While the Georgia RWC squad was using Memorial Park as a training base the union played two home fixtures at the Carterton club ground.

Higher honours went to:
New Zealand Heartland:  Z.A.Aporo

Pre-Season Match Record: Played 1 ; Won 1 ;
Points : For 14 ; Against 13
July 30th vs Poverty Bay , at  Gisborne
Won 14 – 13
Wai-Bush Scorers : G.Dennes tries ; Porter (1) Pen, Haira (1) Pen, (1) DG
Referee: T.Baker (Horo-Kapiti)
2011 Heartland Match Record: Played 8 ; Won 1 ; Lost 7
Points :For 170 ; Against 231
1. August 6 vs Thames Valley, at Masterton
Lost 26 -53
Wai-Bush Scorers : Vatselias (2), Harmon, Goodger tries
Haira (3) Conversions
Referee: Mr S.A.W.Eden-Whaitiri
2. August 13 vs Mid Canterbury, at Methven
Lost 12 – 16
Wai-Bush Scorers :
Vatselias (4) Penalty Goals
Referee: Mr M.S.Muir
3. August 20 vs Buller, at Masterton
Lost 11 – 26
Wai-Bush Scorers : Goodger Try
Haira (1) Pen , Vatselias (1) Pen
Referee: Mr S.M.Elliott
4. August 27 vs North Otago , at Oamaru
Lost 26 – 41
Wai-Bush Scorers : Vatselias, Olson tries
Vatselias (2) Conversions , (4) Penalty Goals
Referee: Mr S.M.Elliott
5. September 3 vs East Coast, at Ruatoria
Lost 13 – 33
Wai-Bush Scorers : Katia Try
Vatselias (1) Conversion, (2) Penalty Goals
Referee: Mr B.D.Skeen
6. September 10 vs Poverty Bay, at Carterton
Lost 21 – 23
Wai-Bush Scorers : Olson, Tipene tries
Vatselias (1) Conversion, (3) Penalty Goals
Referee: Mr J.S.C.McPhail
7. September 17 vs Horowhenua-Kapiti, at Carterton
Won 47 – 10
Wai-Bush Scorers : Mitchell (2), Vatselias, Van Vliet, Olson, Goodger, Griffen tries
Vatselias (6) Conversions
Referee: Mr G.L.Williamson
8. September 24 vs Wanganui, at Wanganui
Lost 14 – 29
Wai-Bush Scorers : McLean, O’Connor tries
Vatselias (2) Conversions
Referee: Mr J.S.C.McPhail
Wairarapa Bush REPRESENTATIVES 2011 + {Total Games for WBRFU}
Z.A.Aporo East Coast 12
W.D.R.Davies Martinborough 8
G.Dennes Martinborough 1
L.Ewe Pioneer 5
J.W.P.R.Goodger Marist 8
D.J.Griffin Eketahuna 29
T.T.Haira Pioneer 4
T.Harmon Pioneer 39
J.A.Hawkins Martinborough 20
I.S.T.Katia Gladstone 8
C.J.Lawrence Eketahuna 8
J.R.J.McGilvary East Coast 18
A.R.McLean Gladstone 33
T.T.McLean-Rimene East Coast 4
S.R.Mitchell East Coast 25
M.T.O’Connor East Coast 8
N.K.Olson East Coast 37
D.R.Porter Gladstone 3
K.M.Simmonds Greytown 40
R.J.Tamani Eketahuna 19
J.Tipene Bush – Manawatu RU 5
J.A.Tua-Davidson Eketahuna 27
H.N.Tupaea Masterton Red Star
J.J.A.Van Vliet Eketahuna 9
T.Vatselias MSP – Wellington RU
M.R.Vuicakau Gladstone 7
B.H.Walker Eketahuna 36
B.P.Young Eketahuna 18