We hope you enjoy this look back as we look forward to many more years of recording the history of Wairarapa Bush Rugby Union. We acknowledge all the information from the NZ “Rugby Almanack” Series from the season’s 1934 through to 2014 and appreciate their hard and dedicated work in providing this detailed history. Web Admin

Acknowledgments to the NZ Rugby Almanack Franchise:

Back to Year by Year Index click here




2014 Status:
Heartland Championship
Founded 1886 – Affiliated 1893 – Amalgamated 1971
Assistant Coach:
Main ground:
Memorial Park , Masterton
Green and Red

As a Meads Cup semi-finalist in each of the previous two seasons, big things were expected of Wairarapa Bush in 2014. And, after a thumping 71 – 0 win over Poverty Bay in a first-class fixture pre-Heartland, another semi-final appearance again looked highly likely. In the end, though, the side did not get close. They came from behind to defeat Thames Valley for their sole win in the sixth round of the competition. But an unlucky draw with eventual champions Mid Canterbury – where they conceded a last minute converted try – was easily their best performance. A major problem for the side was the penalty count against them.

In the forwards the triumvirate of lock Andrew McLean, hooker Richard Puddy and captain/prop Kurt Simmonds were the standouts. Flanker Isaac O’Connor was not far behind them. Season-ending injuries sustained by NZ Universities rep Andrew McWhirter and prop Finbarr Kerr-Newell were real blows to the side. John McFadzean and Tom Fleming had high work rates in the forward exchanges.

In the backs, former Canterbury rep Sam Monaghan always looked most likely to create something. The top try-scorer started at first five-eighth and then shifted to fullback in a swap with Ben Aoina. Byron Karaitiana was dangerous in broken play and was partnered in the midfield by newcomer Robert Anderson, who had a pleasing all round debut season. The big, strong running wing, Paula Tikomainavalu, did not play after the halfway point of the season, with the two wing positions then becoming a three-way contest between Cameron Hayton, Nathan Hunt and Nick Olson. At halfback, Zeb Aporo was a solid performer.

Thirty-one players were called on, 16 appearing in all matches or missing just one match. Fleming, McLean, Simmonds and Te Whare had previously played in 2012.

The 2013 regulars missing this year were James Goodger and Tapaga Isaac (both injured), Nathan Iro (Wellington), Johan van Vliet (Netherlands) and Glen Walters (Wellington).

Higher honours went to:

New Zealand Heartland: N.S. Hunt, A.R. McLean, SJ. Monaghan


2014 Match Record: Played 9 ; Won 2 ; Drew 1 ; Lost 6
Points : For 222 ; Against 238
1. August 9 vs Poverty Bay, at Masterton
Won 71 – 00
Wai-Bush Scorers : Tikomainavalu (3), Marurai (2), Monaghan (2), Karaitiana, Olson, Aoina, Johnson, tries
Aoina (8) Conversions
Referee: Mr.A.W.Payne
2. August 23 vs King Country, at Taupo
Lost  13 – 32
Wai-Bush Scorers : Katia , Try
Aoina (1) Conversion, (2) Penalties
Referee: Mr.S.Kubo (Japan)
3. August 30 vs Mid Canterbury, at Masterton
Drew 23 – 23
Wai-Bush Scorers : Marshall-Wilson, McLean tries
Aoina (2) Conversions, (3) Penalties
Referee: Mr.J.J.Doleman
4. September 6 vs South Canterbury, at Timaru
Lost 16 – 43
Wai-Bush Scorers : Karaitiana , try
Aoina (1) Conversion, (3) Penalties
Referee: Mr.C.J.Stone
5. September 13 vs Poverty Bay  , at Masterton
Lost 10 – 23
Wai-Bush Scorers : Tikomainavalu,  try
Aoina (1) Conversion, (1) Penalty
Referee: Mr.P.M.Williams
6. September 20 vs Horowhenua-Kapiti, at Levin
Lost 09 – 12
Wai-Bush Scorers : Mullany , (3) Penalties
Referee: Mr.L.D.Scanlon
7. September 27 vs Thames Valley, at Masterton
Won 20 – 18
Wai-Bush Scorers : Aoina, Monaghan tries
Aoina (2) Conversions, (2) Penalties
Referee: Mr.L.D.Scanlon
8. October 4 vs Wanganui, at Wanganui
Lost 24 – 38
Wai-Bush Scorers : Hayton, Katia, Monaghan, Anderson, tries
Aoina (2) Conversions
 Referee: Mr.D.G.Morrison
9. October 11 vs Buller, at Masterton
Lost 36 – 49
Wai-Bush Scorers : Monaghan (2), Hunt, O’Connor, Anderson tries
Anderson (4) Conversions, (1) Penalty
Referee: Mr.H.R.Walker
Wairarapa Bush REPRESENTATIVES 2014 + {Total Games for WBRFU}
Robert Anderson Eketahuna 9
Ben Aoina Upper Hutt – Wgtn 8
Zeb Aporo East Coast 31
Joe Beech (1) O.B.University – Wgtn 10
Teihana Brown Greytown 2
Thomas Fleming Carterton 18
Cameron Hayton Gladstone 29
Jacko Hull Carterton 7
Nathan Hunt Martinborough 27
Adam Johnson Martinborough 4
Byron Karaitiana East Coast
Inia Katia Gladstone 36
Finnbarr Kerr-Newell O.B.University – Wgtn 14
Sam Marshall-Wilson Eketahuna 16
Rima Marurai Pioneer 9
John McFadzean Carterton 37
Andrew McLean Gladstone 54
Andrew McWhirter Carterton 2
Sam Monaghan Eketahuna 9
Greg Mullany O.B.University – Wgtn 1
Isaac O’Connor Marist St Pats – Wgtn 7
Nick Olson East Coast 68
Richard Puddy Gladstone 51
Otto Rasch Hut O.B Marist – Wgtn 3
Kurt Simmonds Greytown 61
Joseph Sio Greytown 8
Michael Te Whare Marist 14
Heinrich Terblanche Carterton 7
Paul Tikomainavalu Eketahuna 15
Cody Whittaker Martinborough 1
Zac Wilkie Eketahuna 2

 (1) = Player of Origin