We hope you enjoy this look back as we look forward to many more years of recording the history of Wairarapa Bush Rugby Union. We acknowledge all the information from the NZ “Rugby Almanack” Series from the season’s 1934 through to 2015 and appreciate their hard and dedicated work in providing this detailed history. Web Admin

Acknowledgments to the NZ Rugby Almanack Franchise:

Back to Year by Year Index click here




2015 Status:
Heartland Championship
Founded 1886 – Affiliated 1893 – Amalgamated 1971
R.A.(Richard) Dahlberg
P.L. (Paora) Ammunson
A.R.(Tony) Hargood
J.D. (Josh) Syms
Assistant Coach:
W.D. (Wayne) Roache
Main ground:
Memorial Park , Masterton
Green and Red

Wairarapa Bush made the Meads Cup playoffs finishing the round robin on the same number of points as Horowhenua Kapiti but going through having earlier won their individual encounter. The semi-final was a 21-25 loss to South Canterbury in a match that could have gone either way, the match ending with Wairarapa Bush turning over the ball just short of the South Canterbury line.

The strength of the team was the forward pack with a very good scrum and lineout and mobile in general play. If loan players were eligible for New Zealand Heartland selection, standout hooker Andrew Makalio would have been a certainty. He was a powerful runner with ball in hand and top try scorer. Two who did make the New Zealand Heartland team were Kurt Simmonds and James Goodger. Tighthead prop Simmonds was a strong scrummager and defender at the rucks and mauls, while Goodger, whether at lock or flanker, was a regular winner of lineout ball and prominent in the loose. Lachlan McFadzean had a good season at lock, firstly with James Goodger then with ex Wellington rep James Wall. The best local debutant was flanker Chris Raymond who was busy and effective in the loose. Loosehead prop Matthew Kawana also made a promising debut playing every championship game.

At halfback Cody Whittaker had a snappy pass and could make a break. Outside him Tim Priest arrived from West Coast and was a steady general and accurate goalkicker. His sideline conversion with the last kick of the game won the Buller match. He made the New Zealand Heartland team.The backline was strong defensively but there was a lack of attacking threat from set piece. Nick Olson and Paul Tikomainavalu made the most of the chances they had in the back three.

An upgrade of Memorial Park during the year included the laying of artificial grass, making a unique experience in New Zealand first-class rugby. During the course of the year 36 players donned the jersey, 19 for the first time. Local players missing from last year were Nathan Hunt (Otago), Byron Karaitiana, Andrew McLean, Richard Puddy (all injured), Sam Monaghan (overseas), Tom Fleming (Wellington), and Heinrich Terblanche (returned to South Africa). Hamish Forrester had previously played for Poverty Bay and loan player So’otala Fa’aso’o had played for Auckland in 2013.

Higher honours went to:

New Zealand Heartland: J.W.P.R. Goodger, T.C.Priest, K.M.Simmonds

2015 Match Record: Played 11 ; Won 5 ; Lost 6
Points : For 319 ; Against 292
1. July 9 vs Hawkes Bay (Ranfurly Shield) , at Napier
Lost 07 – 58
Wai-Bush Scorers : B.O.J.Price, try
T.C.Priest (1) Conversion
Referee: Mr.J.R.Nutbrown
2. August 15 vs Poverty Bay (Jeremy David Memorial Trophy), at Gisborne
Won 53 – 17
Wai-Bush Scorers : BJ.McFadzean, Tikomainavalu, Makalio, Humberstone, Hayton, Olson, Forrester , tries
T.C.Priest (6) Conversions, (2) Penalty Goals
Referee: Mr.D.J.MacPherson (Poverty Bay)
3. August 22 vs Thames Valley, at Paeroa
Won 36 – 09
Wai-Bush Scorers : Goodger (2),Olson, Katia, Tries
T.C.Priest (2) Conversions, (4) Penalty Goals
Referee: Mr.A.Aso (Japan)
4. August 29 vs North Otago, at Masterton
Lost 16 – 18
Wai-Bush Scorers : Simmonds , try
T.C.Priest (1) Conversion, (3) Penalty Goals
Referee: Mr.D.G.Morrison
5. September 5 vs Buller, at Westport
Won 14 – 13
Wai-Bush Scorers : Thompson, Olson, tries
T.C.Priest (2) Conversions,
Referee: Mr.B.J.Barclay
6. September 12 vs South Canterbury , at Masterton
Lost 26 – 35
Wai-Bush Scorers : Fa’aso’o (2), Makalio, tries
T.C.Priest (1) Conversions , (3) Penalty Goals
Referee: Mr.V.F.Ringrose
7. September 19 vs West Coast, at Greymouth
Lost 33 – 36
Wai-Bush Scorers : MMakalio (3), Whittaker, Tikomainavalu, Hala tries
T.C.Priest (1) Conversion, (2) Penalty Goals
Referee: Mr.M.C.J.Winter
8. September 26 vs Horowhenua-Kapiti, at Masterton
Won 33 – 19
Wai-Bush Scorers : Makalio (2), Wall, Olson, tries
T.C.Priest (2) Conversions, (3) Penalty Goals
Referee: Mr.M.C.J.Winter
9. October 3 vs East Coast, at Ruatoria
Won 45 – 05
Wai-Bush Scorers : Kawana, Tikomainavalu, Hala, Fa’aso’o, Makalio, Haira, tries
T.C.Priest (3) Conversions, (3) Penalty Goals
 Referee: Mr.J.J.Doleman
10. October 10 vs Wanganui (Bruce Steel Cup), at Wanganui
Lost 35 – 57
Wai-Bush Scorers : Humberstone (2), Hayton,Whittaker, Makalio, tries
T.C.Priest (5) Conversions
Referee: Mr.R.J.M.Gordon
11. October 17 vs South Canterbury ( Meads Cup Semi-final) , at Timaru
Lost 21 – 25
Wai-Bush Scorers : Priest, Tikomainavalu, tries
T.C.Priest (1) Conversions, (3) Penalty Goals
Referee: Mr.L.D.Scanlon
Wairarapa Bush REPRESENTATIVES {2015 + Total Games}
Name Club 2015 Total for Union
Brendon Campbell Eketahuna 9 9
Matthew Dalley Fielding (1) (2) 5 5
Liam Devine Marist 1 1
So’otala Fa’aso’o Grammar TEC (3) 9 9
Hamish Forrester Carterton 4 4
James Goodger Marist 11 32
Wiremu Grace East Coast 2 10
Lance Graves Gladstone 1 4
Tipene Haira Martinborough 9 13
Viliami Hala Grammar TEC (3) 10 10
Cameron Hayton Gladstone 10 39
Jacko Hull Carterton 9 16
Andrew Humberstone Carterton 10 10
Byron Karaitiana Greytown 1 51
lnia Katia Gladstone 9 45
Matthew Kawana Pioneer 9 9
Andrew Makalio Grammar TEC (3) 10 10
Rei Manaia Hutt OB Marist (4) 1 1
Rima Marurai Pioneer 6 15
Corey McFadzean Carterton 5 5
John McFadzean Carterton 10 47
Lachlan McFadzean Carterton 10 28
Andrew McLean Gladstone 1 55
Nick Olson Greytown 10 78
Brock Price Carterton 3 3
Tim Priest (Capt.) Martinborough 11 11
Chris Raymond Martinborough 8 8
Nick Robertson Greytown 1 1
Ryan Saunders Wellington (4) 1 1
Kurt Simmonds Greytown 9 70
Joseph Sio Marist 1 9
Kody Thompson Martinborough 10 10
Paul Tikomainavalu Eketahuna 11 26
Gareth van Dalen Greytown 1 1
James Wall Martinborough 7 7
Cody Whittaker Pioneer 11 12
1 Player of Origin ; 2 Manawatu RU  ; 3 Auckland RU  ; 4 Wellington RU