Latest News

PGG Wrightson Cup – Programme

PGG Wrightson Cup

31 May 2014 – Featherston Rugby Club – 2.30pm

Wairarapa_Bush_Rugby_Logo2 horokapiti

Trust House Wairarapa Bush Heartland vs Horowhenua Kapiti

PGG Wrightson Cup

Curtain Raisers:

Kuranui College vs. Wairarapa College  11.00 am
Greytown U13 vs. Marist U13  12.15 pm

“Our Rugby – Just Brilliant”

headerNew_trust.jpgWairarapa Bush President Report
Talofa lava (it’s Samoan language week!)

On behalf of the Wairarapa Rugby Football Union Board and the wider rugby whanau in Wairarapa, it is my great privilege to welcome Horowhenua Kapiti players, coaches, managers, support staff and fans to Featherston for this much anticipated pre-season game.

We acknowledge the local juniors teams and also the Marist and Greytown/Featherston U13 teams along with Kuranui College and Wairarapa College for showcasing today.

Wairarapa rugby is in very good heart with many exciting new developments coming to fruition. But all of us who are passionate about sport in provincial New Zealand need to be ever vigilant and committed. The real competitor is not the next door club or some other code- sadly, we are in competition against a screen of some kind, or the many expensive and sedentary distractions of the neighbouring big cities.

Your board is confident that Heartland Rugby is an exciting ‘product’. Last year’s crowd attendances at Trust House Memorial Park were the rival of many ITM Cup unions. Now we want to make sure that as many of you as possible get the chance to see this exciting game yourselves and support our teams in Emerald and Scarlet.

So we are very pleased to be able to partner with the South Wairarapa District Council and the Featherston Rugby Club to host this game in our southern most town and to bring Heartland Rugby to the gateway of our region.

You can also play your part in supporting Wairarapa or Featherston rugby. Whatever town or district you live in- we strongly encourage you to get behind your local sports organisations. You don’t have to be Graham Henry to make a big difference. There are plenty of roles- from committee members to changing room strappers. Or just bring the kids or your mates to the park to watch a game. Pop into the Clubrooms afterwards for a sandwich or a beverage. You’ll have a great day, the locals will welcome you- can’t think of many better ways to spend an afternoon.

Kia ora

Paora Ammunson




Wairarapa Bush



Horowhenua Kapiti

  1. Kurt.Simmonds.(C)
  2. Richard Puddy
  3. Ollie Terblanche
  4. Gareth Van Dalen
  5. Kieran O’Brien
  6. Johnie McFadzean
  7. Rima Marutai
  8. Hamish Walker
  9. Zeb Aporo
  10. Sam Monaghan
  11. Cory Cormichael
  12. Mike Te Whare
  13. Robbie Anderson
  14. Paula Tikomainavalu
  15. Nick Olson
  16. Adam Johnson
  17. Lance Graves
  18. Jacko Hull
  19. Eugene Gerrard
  20. Joe Sio
  21. Tipene Haira
  22. Nathan Hunt
  23. Regan Pope
  1. Lee Simons
  2. Scott Cameron
  3. Kurt Jackson
  4. Rhys Hunter
  5. Joey Smith
  6. James Karauria
  7. Tyson Maki
  8. Matt Easton
  9. Sani Ulu-Kini
  10. Gregor McGregor
  11. Stuart McGregor
  12. Rangi Matakatea
  13. James Forsthye
  14. Scott Anderson
  15. Cody Finau
  16. Rob Millar
  17. Mario Nau
  18. Paulo Lafaeli
  19. Alex Brunskill
  20. Ryan Shelford
  21. Logan Broughton
  22. Dylan Ratana
  23. Trent Reti
  24. Michael Van Belle
  25. Danny Wanoa
Coach: Mark Rutene
Manager: Gavin Hodder
Trainer: Stacey Grant
Physio: Louise O’Reilly
Coach: Jared Tanira
Asst Coach:Chris.Wilton
Manager: Chris Hirini
Physio: Janell Kiriona

Referee & Touch Judges

Alistair Payne , Shay O’Gorman & Scott Andrew

Club Rugby Next Week
7 June Draw
Premiers @ 2.30 pm
Carterton vs. Greytown
East Coast vs. Pioneer
Eketahuna vs. Martinborough
Gladstone vs. Marist

Reserves @ 1.00 pm:

Carterton vs. Greytown
Gladstone vs. Eketahuna
Marist vs. Pioneer
Martinborough vs. Tuhirangi
East Coast BYE

 Pink Batts Heartland Rugby Draw 2014
Competition starts:

Day Date Team Venue Time
Pre Competition
Saturday 2nd August Manawatu TBC TBC
Saturday 9th August Poverty Bay Masterton 2.30 pm
Competition Starts
Saturday 23rd August King Country Taupo 2.00 pm
Saturday 30th August Mid Canterbury Masterton 1.30 pm
Saturday 6th September South Canterbury Timaru 1.30 pm
Saturday 13th September Poverty Bay Masterton 2.30 pm
Saturday 20th September Horowhenua Kapiti Levin 2.30 pm
Saturday 27th September Thames Valley Masterton 2.30 pm
Saturday 4th October Wanganui Wanganui 2.30 pm
Saturday 11th October Buller Masterton 2.30 pm
Saturday 18th October Semi’s
Saturday 25th October Finals