Latest News

Manawatu Teams Take Sevens Cup Titles At Rathkeale College

Manawatu Teams Take Sevens Cup Titles At Rathkeale College

The seventh year of the annual Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Tournament lived up to expectation, with a competitive contest waged on a largely damp, but verdant venue at Rathkeale College in Masterton.

In the Boys Section of the Tournament, Feilding High School overcame St. Patrick’s College, Wellington by 34 points to 12, after leaping to a 24 points to 5 half-time lead. In the Semi-Finals, the Wellingtonians came from behind to register their first ever win (in any form of the game) against three-time champion Hastings Boys High School, by 17 points to 14. In the other Semi-Final, Feilding High School comprehensively defeated previously unbeaten Wanganui Collegiate.

Throughout pool-play, there was steady precipitation until sunshine broke out during the knock-out play-off fixtures. Hosts Rathkeale College finished third in their pool with two victories against Hato Paora College and Lindisfarne College, but were defeated by defending Cup champions, Palmerston North Boys High School by 35 points to 5 in the 5th/6th play-off.

The final rankings for the Boys Section of the Tournament were:

1. Feilding High School
2. St. Patrick’s College, Wellington
3. Hastings Boys’ High School
4. Whanganui Collegiate
5. Palmerston North Boys’ High School
6. Rathkeale College
7. Aotea College
8. Lindisfarne College
9. Hato Paora College
10. Waiopehu College

In the Girls Section of the Tournament, Manukura successfully defended their 2019 title against a competitive Feilding High School side in the Cup Final, narrowly winning by 24 points to 21. Feilding High School will be disappointed in their result, as it took a try by Manukura on full-time to take the title for 2020. Earlier, in pool play, Manukura had defeated Feilding High School by 33 points to 19.

The final rankings for the Girls Section of the Tournament were:

1. Manukura
2. Feilding High School
3. St. Mary’s College
4. Kapiti College
5. Whanganui High School

The Tournament was superbly managed by Cameron Hayton and Stacey Puddy from the Wairarapa-Bush Rugby Football Union, with referees kindly provided by both the Wairarapa-Bush and Wellington Rugby Referees Associations. The Council would like to warmly thank all those who contributed to the success of the 2020 Tournament.